‘Blades Sneak Past Icemen in Estero

The Florida Everblades rallied in the third period to edge the Icemen in Estero, 4-2. Quentin Shore scored three goals, including the game-winning goal, and the ‘Blades won the first game of a back-to-back series against the Icemen.

Both teams had goals waived off in the first period tonight as Florida had an apparent goal at 6:17 into the game, but the referees would converge and the game remain deadlocked. Later on, Cameron Critchlow made contact with Callum Booth and goaltender interference was called. Right before the frame ended, the ‘Blades collected a goal with just 1.9 seconds remaining. Quentin Shore beat Colton Phinney with a one-timer on the power play, courtesy of a cross-ice pass from teammate Stephen MacAulay.

In the second period, it was the Icemen’s turn to answer on the power play. With under four minutes remaining in the period, Christopher Dienes’ slap shot from the point found Tanner Eberle in front with a deflection for the Icemen goal. A few minutes later, Everett Clark found Brendan Collier all alone in front of the net for the tap in power-play goal to give Jacksonville the lead. Collier scored in his fourth game back since suffering a broken jaw in practice. The Icemen ended the second period with a 2-1 lead.

The ‘Blades would start the third period determined to even the score. Quentin Shore stole the puck on the penalty kill and found Joe Cox wide open in front of the net with a crisp saucer pass and Cox tied the game at two. Shortly after the game-tying goal, Justin Kea dished a sneaky backhand pass behind the goal to a charging Quentin Shore in the slot. Shore buried the wide open chance to give the ‘Blades their second lead of the game. With a late power play and the goalie pulled, the Icemen would try once again to tie the game, but to no avail. Quentin Shore would score the empty-net goal and picked up a hat trick in a 4-2 ‘Blades win.

The 2017-18 season, presented by Community First Credit Union, continues Saturday night as these two clubs face off in Jacksonville at 7:30 p.m. Click here to get your tickets!